Close this search box.

Congratulations to the 2023 IEEE Fellows

Untitled design Max Quality (63)

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Nineteen IEEE Photonics Society members elevated to the grade of IEEE Fellow for 2023.


Ping Shum

Southern University of Science and Technology

For pioneering contributions in optical fiber-based technologies and their diverse applications


Raymond Beausoleil

Hewlett Packard Laboratories

For contributions to classical and quantum communication and computation


Maite Brandt-Pearce

University of Virginia

For contributions to optical wireless and fiber communications


Paul C.-P. Chao

National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University

For contributions to optical bio-imaging and sensing technologies


Pavel Cheben

National Research Council of Canada

For contributions to silicon and metamaterial photonics


Michael Eismann

Air Force Research Laboratory

For extraordinary technical leadership of hyperspectral remote sensing and infrared technology research for defense applications


Fabrizio Forghieri

Cisco Photonics

For contributions to optical communications systems


Magnus Karlsson

Chalmers University of Technology

For fundamental contributions to the study of nonlinear fiber propagation and advanced modulation formats

Andras Kis medium

Andras Kis 

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology

For contributions to the development of 2D materials and electronic devices


Keisuke Kojima

Boston Quantum Photonics, LLC

For application of AI technologies to optimize the design of active and passive photonic devices


Christina M Lim

University of Melbourne

For contributions in hybrid fiber-wireless communications technology


Richard Mirin 

National Institute of Standards and Technology

For contributions to quantum photonic devices


Yoshiaki Nakano

The University of Tokyo

For contributions to semiconductor integrated photonic devices and circuits


Boon S Ooi

King Abdullah University of Science and Technology

For contributions to broadband light emitters and visible light communications


Shilong Pan

Nanjing University

For contributions to high-performance microwave-photonic imaging radar


Anna Peacock

University of Southampton

For contributions to nonlinear fiber optics and materials


Laurent Schmalen

Karlsruher Institut for Technologie

For contributions to the design of error correction and modulation techniques for optical networks


Richard Syms

Imperial College London

For contributions to mass spectrometers based on microelectromechanical system technology


Zuqing Zhu

University of Science and Technology

For contributions to elastic optical networking and network virtualization