Close this search box.

Diversity Oversight Committee

The IEEE Photonics Society established a Diversity Oversight Committee to ensure that the global diversity of the community in which the Society serves is represented in all aspects of the organization. The Society is committed to continually taking steps to diversify the array of individuals and perspectives building and leading the photonics technology of tomorrow.

Click Here to learn more about the IEEE Photonics Society “Commitment to Diversity”. 



AVP of Diversity

Term: 2024 – 2026
CSIR, South Africa


Niamh Kavanagh

Past Chair

Term: 2024 – 2024
Verizon Connect

Karen Reyes

Ana Karen Reyes

AVP Multicultural Outreach

Term: 2024 – 2026
Universidad Tecnológica de Tulancingo, Mexico


Sinan Genc

AVP of Young Professionals

Term: 2024 – 2026
Abdullah Gül University, Turkey

aitor villafranca velasco

Aitor Villafranca Velasco

PRIDE IN Photonics

Term: 2024 – 2024

Qin Wang

Qin Wang

AVP Women in Photonics

Term: 2024 – 2026
RISE, Sweden

Winnie Ye BoG

Winnie ye

Elected Board Member

Term: 2024 – 2026
Carleton University, Canada

Robert Tench

Robert Tench

Elected Board Member

Term: 2023 – 2025
RET and Associates, LLC, USA

Staff Support

Lauren Mecum-Smith

Senior Manager, Strategic Programs