Education Committee

The IEEE Photonics Society established an Education Committee to foster and provide quality, educational initiatives for the Society and photonics community-at-large, i.e. members, professionals, educators, K-12 students and the public. The Committee and its leaders also focus on practical learning and professional development resources to provide soft skills training beyond the classroom and lab. 

Strategic Objectives

  • Deliver continuing education products, professional development opportunities and educational activities;  
  • Support the creation of K-20 STEM education materials, programs and teaching modules; 
  • Devise hands-on trainings, remote learning resources, eLearning courses, tutorials, etc.; 
  • Facilitate education awards and scholarships as well as job search tools and academic exchanges; 
  • Partner with coalition groups on community college, technician and vocational school programs for photonics. 
Jochen Schroder

Jochen Schröder

Education Chair

Term: 2023 – 2025
Chalmers University, New Zealand

Angeles Camacho

Angeles Camacho Rosales

AVP STEM Outreach

Term: 2023 – 2025
University of Southampton, UK

demis john

Demis John

Continuing Education Representative

Term: 2021 – 2023
UC Santa Barbara, USA

frank reed jr

Frank Reed, Jr.

Technician Education Representative

Term: 2021 – 2023
Indian Hills Community College, USA

chrysanthos panayiotou

Chrysanthos Panayiotou

Academic Exchange Representative

Term: 2021 – 2023

Fatima Garcia Gunning

Fatima Garcia-Gunning

Awards & Scholarships Representative

Term: 2023 – 2025
Tyndall National Institute, Ireland

thomas clark

Thomas Clark

Elected Board Member

Term: 2023 – 2023
Johns Hopkins University, USA

Staff Support

Lauren Mecum-Smith

Senior Manager, Strategic Programs