Professional & Technical Development Council

The IEEE Photonics Society’s Professional & Technical Development Council (PTD) is responsible for: creating professional development programs; enhancing career services; identifying opportunities for professionals to engage in volunteering; and distinguishing emerging areas of technical and industrial interest.

Strategic Committees

The Professional & Technical Development Council has (4) four Strategic Committees and a Task Force that reports to it within the Society’s governance structure:


Anna Peacock

VP of Professional & Technical Development

Term: 2021 – 2023
University of Southampton, UK

akhil kallepalli

Akhil Kallepalli

AVP of Young Professionals

Term: 2021 – 2023
University of Glasgow, UK

john kulick

John Kulick

Standards Chair

Term: 2017 – 2023
Siemens, USA

benjamin eggleton

Benjamin Eggleton

Professional Advancement Chair

Term: 2021 – 2023
University of Sydney, Australia

Daniel Renner

Daniel Renner

Industry Engagement Chair

Term: 2023 – 2025
Atacama Light, USAO & E

Lorenzo Pavesi

Lorenzo Pavesi

Emerging Technologies Task Force Chair

Term: 2023 – 2025
University of Trento, Italy

lidia galdino

Lidia Galdino

Elected Board Member

Term: 2021 – 2023
Corning, USA

ray hua horng

Ray-Hua Horng

Elected Board Member

Term: 2021 – 2023
National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Staff Support

Lauren Mecum-SMITH

Senior Manager, Strategic Programs