Young Professionals Advisory Committee

The IEEE Photonics Society established a Young Professionals Advisory Committee to ensure that the Society’s early career professionals and members up to 15 years post their first degree, are represented in all aspects of the organization. The Committee also facilitates interconnected outreach methods to encourage international, educational and career development in the photonics community.

akhil kallepalli

Akhil Kallepalli

AVP of Young Professionals

Term: 2021 – 2023
University of Glasgow, UK


Thierry Lapointe-Leclerc

Emerging Technologies Task Force Representative

Term: 2023 – 2025
Université Laval, Canada

Yuan Yuan

Yuan Yuan

Publications Representative

Term: 2023 – 2025
Hewlett Packard Enterprise, USA

Mikael Mazur

Mikael Mazur

Conferences Representative

Term: 2021 – 2023
Nokia Bell Labs, USA

Matt Edgar

Matt Edgar

Education & Mentoring Representative

Term: 2021 – 2023
M Squared Lasers

Perla Viera Gonzalez

Perla Viera-González

Professional Development Representative

Term: 2021 – 2023
Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León

Clara Canon

Clara Cañón

Global Strategy Rep – Latin America

Term: 2021 – 2023
Universidad Industrial de Santander, Colombia

Allan Koech

Allan Koech

Global Strategy Rep – Africa

Term: 2022 – 2024
The AFECS Limited, Kenya

sinan genc

Sinan Genc

Global Strategy Rep – Central/Eastern Europe

Term: 2021 – 2023
Abdullah Gül University, Turkey

anupma thakur

Anupma Thakur

Global Strategy Rep – India

Term: 2021 – 2023

yetian huang

Yetian Huang

Global Strategy Rep – China

Term: 2021 – 2023
Shanghai University, China

Brandon B

Brandon Buscaino

Industry Engagement Representative

Term: 2023-2026