Close this search box.

2023 William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award Recipient Announced

Shinji Matsuo 2

We are delighted to announce that Shinji Matsuo of the NTT Corporation, has been chosen as the IEEE Photonics Society William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award.

For contributions to ultra-high speed, low power consumption membrane lasers and their heterogeneous integration. 

Dr. Shinji Matsuo is a Fellow at NTT Corporation. He received the B.E. and M.E. degrees in electrical engineering from Hiroshima University, Hiroshima, Japan, in 1986 and 1988, and the Ph.D. degree in electronics and applied physics from Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, Japan, in 2008.

In 1988, he joined NTT Opto-electronics Laboratories, Atsugi, where he was engaged in research on optical functional devices integrating MQW modulators and photodetectors, VCSELs and GaAs MESFETs, and VCSELs and Si-CMOS circuits called smart pixels. In 1997, he researched optical networks using WDM technologies at NTT Network Innovation Laboratories, Yokosuka.  Since 2000, he has continued his research on photonic devices at NTT Photonics Laboratories, now NTT Device Technology Laboratories, Atsugi. He developed monolithically integrated wavelength-tunable lasers that combine gain media with InP-based optical filters, such as ring resonators and lattice filters. He has also developed InP-based photonic crystal (PhC) lasers using a wavelength-scale buried active region. In 2013, his group demonstrated high-speed, low-power direct modulation of electrically driven PhC lasers. Using the device fabrication techniques established with the PhC laser, he has realized a novel way to fabricate membrane lasers on silicon substrates suitable for integration with the Si photonics platform. 

In 2019, he has realized a breakthrough technology in terms of the direct modulation speed of lasers by using a membrane laser on SiC substrate.  Dr. Matsuo received the Izuo Hayashi Award from the Japan Society of Applied Physics (JSAP), Electronics Society Award from Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers of Japan (IEICE), Kenjiro Sakurai Memorial Prize from Optoelectronics Industry and Technology Development Association (OITDA), and IEEE Photonics Society Distinguished Lecturer. He is a member of JSAP, IEICE, a Fellow of Optica and a Fellow of IEEE.