Congratulations to the 2023 IEEE Fellows

Untitled design Max Quality (63)

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. […]

Ming-Jun Li Wins 2023 John Tyndall Award


We are delighted to announce that Ming-Jun Li, a Corporate Fellow at Corning Incorporated, USA, has been selected by IEEE Photonics Society and Optica as the 2023 John Tyndall Award recipient! Li is recognized for “seminal contributions to advances in optical fiber technology”. His work having made a remarkable impact on society. Read how.

Martin Dawson elected as Fellow Member of the Royal Society


Professor Martin Dawson, Director of Research at Strathclyde’s Institute of Photonics and head of the Strathclyde-hosted Fraunhofer Centre for Applied Photonics, has received the accolade in recognition of a research career of more than […]

2022 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Electrical Engineering Laureates


IEEE Photonics Society Fellows, P. Daniel Dapkus, Ph.D. and Russell Dupuis, Ph.D., are the 2022 Laureates of the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Electrical Engineering—receiving this honor for pioneering the technology that provides the materials quality and ultra-precision required for many device components central to modern life, including LEDs, transistors, lasers, and high-performance solar cells.