Close this search box.

IEEE Photonics Society Honors Fellows & Award Recipients at 2024 OFC

Untitled (10)

[San Diego, California] – IEEE Photonics Society, in collaboration with co-sponsors IEEE Communications Society and Optica, convened a special luncheon on Tuesday, March 26th, from 12:30 to 14:00, during the 2024 Optical Fiber Communication Conference and Exhibition (OFC). This exclusive event served as a platform to celebrate the remarkable achievements of luminaries in the field of photonics, with a focus on acknowledging outstanding contributions to optical-fiber technology and related disciplines.

The IEEE Photonics Society’s segment of the program welcomed IEEE President Thomas Coughlin who presented the 2024 Photonics Award. Society President, Perry Shum, recognized newly elevated IEEE Fellows, and was joined by the cosponsors to present the 2024 John Tyndall Award.

The 2024 Photonics Award was presented to Kim B. Roberts, Cienna Corporation, Canada

For leadership in the introduction and development of digital coherent signal processing for optical fiber transmission systems.

2024 John Tyndall Award was presented to David Richardson, University of Southampton, UK

For pioneering contributions to the development of optical fibers and their applications and commercialization in fiber lasers and optical communications.

TUE 4034

Presented by Aleksandra Boskovic (Corning), Michal Lipson (Optica), and Perry Shum (IPS)

IEEE Photonics Society Fellows: Presented by Perry Shum (IEEE Photonics Society President) (From left to right) President, Perry Shum, Koji Yamada, Barry Bing-Rui Wu, Volker Sorger, and Gordon Keeler.

IEEE Fellows 1

 Koji Yamada, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)

For contributions to silicon photonics.

Barry Bing-Ruey Wu, Keysight Technologies

For contributions to enhancement and commercialization of InP-based ultra high-speed DHBT IC technology.

Volker Sorger, University of Florida

For contributions to optoelectronic devices and photonic-electronic ASICs.

Gordon Keeler, Beacon Photonics

For leadership in heterogeneous photonics and optical microsystems.

The IEEE Photonics Society extends heartfelt congratulations to all the award recipients and Fellows honored during the 2024 OFC luncheon. Their dedication, vision, and unwavering commitment to excellence serve as an inspiration to the global photonics community.

For further information, please visit