Close this search box.

2023 Engineering Achievement Award Recipient Announced

Alwyn Seeds

We are delighted to announce that Alwyn Seeds of the University College, London, has been chosen as the IEEE Photonics Society Engineering Achievement Award.

Alwyn Seeds holds the B.Sc, Ph.D. and D.Sc. degrees of the University College, London.  After working as a Staff Member at Lincoln Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and as Lecturer in Telecommunications at Queen Mary College, University of London, he joined University College London in 1986, where he is currently Professor of Opto-electronics, Head of the Photonics Group and Director of the EPSRC National Dark Fibre Facility.  He has published more than 500 papers on microwave and opto-electronic devices and their systems applications, of which some 100 have been invited.

Professor Seeds is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (UK), an IEEE Life Fellow (USA) and has served as Vice-President for Technical Affairs of the IEEE Photonics Society (USA). He co-founded Zinwave, a manufacturer of wireless over fibre systems, now a unit of Wilson Electronics LLC. There are now over 850 Zinwave systems installed in 26 countries worldwide. Alwyn Seeds was awarded the Gabor Medal and Prize of the Institute of Physics in 2012 and the Distinguished Educator Award of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society in 2018.