Close this search box.

2024 Quantum Electronics Award Recipient Announced

Gorshkov 2024 announcement

We are delighted to announce that Alexey Gorshkov, has been chosen as the IEEE Photonics Society Quantum Electronics Award.

For pioneering contributions to understanding, design, and control of interacting quantum systems, with applications including quantum computers, sensors, and networks.

Alexey Gorshkov received his A.B. and Ph.D. degrees from Harvard in 2004 and 2010, respectively. In 2013, after three years as a Lee A. DuBridge Postdoctoral Scholar at Caltech, he became a staff physicist at NIST. At the same time, he started his own research group at the University of Maryland, where he is a fellow of the Joint Quantum Institute and of the Joint Center for Quantum Information and Computer Science. His theoretical research is at the interface of quantum optics, atomic physics, condensed matter physics, and quantum information science. Applications of his research include quantum computing, quantum communication, and quantum sensing. He is a recipient of many awards including the 2023 Samuel Wesley Stratton Award, the 2022 Optica Fellowship, the 2020 Arthur S. Flemming Award, the 2020 APS Fellowship, and the 2019 PECASE.